top of page

En hav per cô gwav

As another summers comes rolling to a close, I would firstly like to thanks everyone who bought Cds, downloaded tracks, came to gigs, chucked money at me while busking, cooked me dinner and bought me a pint. I had a wonderful time travelling round Devon and Cornwall, camping on the wildside and cooking my tea on a fire. I met bunches and bunches of lovely people, many of them musicians, many of the music fans and some of them just dam good types. It was great to be in that celtic twilight zone where you don't really feel like you are in England, despite the jingle of the Morris men and the ridiculous price of chips. Something about the way the sea effects the light. One of the highlights of the summer was spending a couple of days with old friend and travelling man, Al Groat, recording some of the hundreds of songs he has stored in brain. I set up the recording equipment in the back of the transit van and ran a mic out to the fire we had built next to a lovely thick hawthorn hedge. Then he sang and told stories for hours, each one reminding him of the next, songs of old friends and places. The kettle boiled, we made tea and let the tape roll. I think the recordings have really captured the scene. Well you can be the judge of that, here is my favorite. Jock The Gypsy

I have a few gigs lined up over the next month then I will be heading off to France for a month or so to play some dates over there. Details are available of the gigs pages of my website. I am working on songs for my new album, which is slowly taking shape. At the moment it is wavering between a more trad English feel with wafts of baroque floating through and a seaside feel, something airy and fresh with the sparking almost bearable chill that the English call summer. I will have to see how I feel about the sea come the dark days of winter. But for now we seem to enjoying a bit of an Indian summer and I have a party to go to.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page